Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 7 posts ] 

Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:42 pm

I am new to strobed basketball and strobes. I have just purchased two AB800's. I have one CST and one CSRB+. I will purchase additional equipment as suggested. I am planning on putting an AB800 at the left and right side baseline of the court, at about 15 feet high (clamped to a rail on the 2nd level). My thought is to bounce both of them off the ceiling so that they hit approximately the top of the key. I will use one receiver on one of the AB800's, and assume that the other one will be triggered automatically (if not, I'll get a second CSRB+).

Is this the most effective way to light the gym? I'd rather not do direct flash, as I'm worried about this bothering the players. Is there a guideline for flash output and camera settings?

Top Top

#

Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:34 pm

Site Admin

You will want another reciever, as the light may or may not see the first light. Additionally, other flashes (from the bleachers, etc.) could set of your strobes. Many users do bounce, but be careful of ceiling height, color, ect. Keep in mind bouncing, and the extra travel of the light, will limit how much light is reaching your subject. This will result in wider apertures and/or higher ISO's, but it will still be better than no flash.

Top Top

#

Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:32 pm

So do most photogs do this with direct flash? Both strobes to the top of the key? I'm just worried about it bothering the players, or does it not bother them with the lights higher?

Top Top

#

Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:40 pm

Site Admin

There is not a hands down definative way, many users do both, and will usually depend on height of the ceiling, access, equipment at hand, and preferences of coaches. Lights up high are typically not a bother, and the steeper the angle down, the less of a bother it should be.

Top Top

#

Fri Dec 18, 2009 1:36 pm