Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 7 posts ] 

Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:31 pm

Hey Folks,
I'm new to flash photography. Someone is offering me his Alien Bee B800s at a good price with little milage on them. However, I have a Nikon d40 for a camera which has no sync cord outlet. Can I use on of the wireless triggers with me D40 to control the flashes. I've been reviewing the products on the website for some time now, but it's a little confusing for a beginner. Any feedback would be welcome. Thanks in advance, Johnny

Top Top

#

Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:20 pm

Site Admin

Yes! You can either use the HSA or CyberSync system. Either will fit into the hotshoe of the camera. If you go the HSA route, no other parts are required. If you go with the CyberSyncs, you will need a CST transmitter and a CSR or CSRB receiver. I have links below. You will need to be in the manual mode, as auto modes will result in exposure errors (overexposure).

One cool aspect of the D40 is the ability to shoot at a higher than normal shutter speed. This is particularly useful when shooting outdoors in strong sunlight, to get the background to match, or get it darker than normal. This is difficult to do with newer cameras.

http://www.alienbees.com/parts.html
http://www.alienbees.com/remotes.html

Top Top

#

Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:52 am

In the link you posted there is an "SLFA". Would that take the place of the Zebra pc to flash hot shoe adapter. I have a Nikon SB600 which has no port so to fire it off camera I need an adapter with cord. Is the SLFA all I need (in addition to the reciever and trigger?

Top Top

#

Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:15 am

I use a Nikon D70 and it does not have a PC synch port either.

Nikon and other firms make a little cube which slips into the camera's hot shoe. On the front of the Nikon model there is a PC (Female) synch port. It works quite well.