Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 12 posts ] 

Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:50 pm

Real newbie here.
Ordered an Alienbee strobe.
Wonder if can be triggered by a Phottix Odin trigger.
I see some reference to pocket wizard.
Not familiar with much of this equipment.
thanks

Top Top

#

Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:29 pm

Site Admin

Info here:

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1070215

Top Top

#

Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:47 pm

Luap wrote:

Thanks

Top Top

#

Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:33 am

I have the Odin. It will trigger a PCB light just fine using the 1/8" sync cord that comes with the Odin. The Odin is a TTL radio trigger for Canon speedlites - it doesn't turn a monolight into a speedlite though. When used to trigger a PCB light it's just a dumb, manual trigger - no remote power adjustment, no HSS, no TTL.

That being said, I did experiment with using the Odin to trigger a Canon 580-EXII and then adding in an Einstein triggered optically. The results looked pretty good! It seemed like the Einstein was triggered by the TTL pre-flash, allowing the Odin to account for the Einsteins's contribution, and then the Einstein also fired with the real exposure-making flash. You could try it and see what you think. For this to work I'd think you'd need an Einstein specifically and it'd need to be at a relatively low power because it doesn't have time to recharge in-between these two flashes.

Also, a decent way to integrate Speedlites and PCB lights is to put a Cybersync CST in an Odin receiver's hot shoe. Odin is also backward-compatible with the less expensive Phottix Strato receiver which works fine for this purpose. You can just stick the Phottix receiver+CST in your camera bag or whatever. I put the Odin controller in my camera's hot shoe and keep the Cyber Commander in my pocket and that way I have remote control of the power of everything.

Top Top

#

Thu May 28, 2015 2:00 pm

Hi Itwimberly,
Quote: