Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 7 posts ] 

Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:05 am

I recently purchased a DB800 for use with my Canon 5DSr and associated Canon flash equipment. The unit works perfectly; synch using a Canon ST-E3-RT transmitter and Yongnuo YNE3-RX receiver is perfect at 1/200 second (max synch speed on the 5DSr). No shading or black bars visible over the full range of DB800 flash power.

Being a curious electrical engineer, I measured the synch voltage with a Fluke 289 digital voltmeter, which has a 10 MOhm input impedance. The measurement was just over 10 volts, whereas your specs indicated a synch voltage of ~5 volts. Why the difference?
Thanks,
Gus

Top Top

#

Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:46 pm

Site Admin

You are correct – the maximum measurable voltage is 10v. This can only be measured in the manner you are describing, with a very high impendence circuit. When you start accounting for other components in the system, such as the sync cable itself, connectors, etc. this voltage will decrease as the impendence is reduced.

More importantly, the actual energy storage of this supply is only 10uJ, and it is fully isolated from the rest of the unit.

Top Top

#

Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:54 am