Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 7 posts ] 

Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:27 am

Hi I'm new to Paul C Buff, I got Einstein, cyber commander.

To get the high speed sync to work, what else do I need to do besides setting to action mode? Still getting bad photos when my speed goes further than 1/200. THanks!

Top Top

#

Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:34 pm

Serena wrote:
Hi I'm new to Paul C Buff, I got Einstein, cyber commander.

To get the high speed sync to work, what else do I need to do besides setting to action mode? Still getting bad photos when my speed goes further than 1/200. THanks!

I was initially looking to do the same thing.
Turns out that PB products do not allow you to do that. Einstein can go into a supersync, but not HSS.
Guess who's getting rid of all all the thousands of dollars invested into PB to move to an xplor this year?..
yep. this guy.

Top Top

#

Fri Mar 03, 2017 3:21 pm

Site Admin

Correct, our lights are not HSS capable, inherently. Einstein derives its action stopping ability from its faster flash duration.

Top Top

#

Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:28 pm

On the one hand Serena wrongly assumed the Einsteins had HSS capability. No offense, but how did you buy these without researching this first? But in fairness to Serena, everyone and their mother is producing HSS studio light options.

I love my Einsteins - in studio - ONLY - outdoors, not so much. Hate carrying around ND filters so I can shoot in bright sunlight.

Sorry Paul C. Buff, your technology is dated and its time to update your brand or your going to be left in the dust by both the high end and all the Chinese lights on the market that offer both HSS and TTL. While we are on the subject, its time for a complete redesign of the Cyber Commander. Small buttons, easy to corrupt software and way to complex to use.

Profoto, Elinchrom, Broncolor, Photix, even Godox remotes are way easier to use and understand.