Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 3 posts ] 

Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:53 am

I have been using my 3 Einsteins happily for the past 4 or 5 years. I have a Canon 5d Mk II and a newer Canon 5ds. I use Pocket Wizards and have power tracking set to off. I make all the adjustments manually on the Einsteins. I am used to turning on the flashes, taking a first shot and having all 3 Einsteins go to either -1f or Full. I reset them to what I usually shoot at, which is about -6f. I was told this is normal.

Last week, the flashes started going to either full or almost full, or to the lowest setting every time I changed the ISO, the shutter speed, or the aperture. Then they started changing erratically after every 4 or 5 shutter actuations. I tried turning off two of the flashes to see if I could isolate a bad flash. I tried changing the MiniTT1 to a Flex TT5, I changed out the camera and PW batteries. I also tried changing to my older 5D Mk II. Nothing seems to make the lights stable.

Any ideas or suggestions would be welcome.

Top Top

#

Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:17 pm

Site Admin

The Einsteins seem to be working as designed, changing based on the settings they are told.

It seems the PocketWizards are providing the Einstein commands you are not expecting. Since these remotes are not ours, we are not qualified to trouble shoot their behavior.

I would need to defer you to PocketWizard for specifics on this issue.

Top Top

#

Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:57 am

Technical Support wrote:
The Einsteins seem to be working as designed, changing based on the settings they are told.

It seems the PocketWizards are providing the Einstein commands you are not expecting. Since these remotes are not ours, we are not qualified to trouble shoot their behavior.

I would need to defer you to PocketWizard for specifics on this issue.