Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 7 posts ] 

Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:45 pm

Sure appreciate the help from this forum. I'm new to studio lighting and have been testing one of my brand new B800s with my Sekonic meter and my Nikon D300. I set up the B800 with a 60" sliver umbrella and shot a grey card at various light settings. I'm using ISO 200 and a sync speed of 1/250th. (Max on the D300 is 1/320th but the meter doesn't have that setting.) I've been careful to ensure that both the meter and the camera have matching settings. In addition, I put the camera on a tripod to reduce variables as much as possible and used the sync cord for all the metering as well as the shots.

I've adjusted the light to be exactly f/2.8, f/4, f/8, f11 and f/16 and shot the grey card at each of those settings. On the first three, the histogram was dead on (or close enough). But on the others, it was off. The histogram for f/8 centered at f/10, f/11 centered at f/13, and f/16 centered at f/20. Is this variation of the histogram with the metered settings normal?

Thanx,
Bruce

Top Top

#

Tue Dec 22, 2009 11:45 pm

Site Admin

It's not that uncommon. Histograms can depend on white balance setting, flashmeters aren't always absolute. camera exposures aren't always absolute, ad infinitum. If you are shooting in RAW but your camera color temp isn't close to the actual light color temp the histograms can be in error.

I find color 200+°K temperature difference on my D300 on a test patch shot at f11 than on the same patch and light settings, but shot at f16. Canon is worse in this regard than Nikon. On my McBeth color cards I find 400°K differences from one grey patch shade to another in the same exposure. On my Color Meters, Minolta and Gossen, I find 300°K indicated color temperature variations depending on the distance from light to meter.