Paul C. Buff, Inc. Technical Forum

Technical Discussion Forum for all Paul C. Buff, Inc. Products

Login

Post a reply
 [ 6 posts ] 

Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:30 pm

I am a starting out portrait photographer and I'm sick of my one natural light source which only receives morning sun. I am wanting to get an 800 watt strobe and use my reflectors for fill. I am having a hard time understanding the transmitters and receivers. I need one transmitter per light but only one receiver? I want to get equipment that is going to last me if I get more then one light. I have tried to look at info online but can't seem to find an easy to understand tutorial. Thank you so much.

Top Top

#

Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:12 pm

If you are only using one light and it is nearby (as in a portrait setup) you really don't need a radio transmitter and receiver. You can simply adjust the light from the controls on the back panel and trigger it via a sync cord. Should you decide that you want radio control, you use one receiver on each light and a single transmitter (CCT or Cyber Commander) on the camera that will trigger all the lights. (A Cyber Commander transmitter will also let you adjust and meter the lights.) If you think that at some point you will buy a Cyber Commander, then make sure you buy the compatible receivers that are marked with a "+" sign.

I think you should do some research on lighting concepts and/or take some classes or workshops.

My advice to you once you get a single light is to try it out on a subject from every angle and method that you can think of in the space you have available. Also try modifying it with various reflectors, umbrellas, diffusers, etc. and observe the different effects you can create.

Top Top

#

Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:15 pm